News

UNIVERSITY OF AUCKLAND

Dr E. H. McCormick has taken up a Senior Research Fellowship in the departments of history and English. Dr David de Giustino, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, is post-doctoral Fellow for 1973. Dr McCormick is completing a biography of Alexander Turnbull and working on a study of Omai. Dr de Giustino is teaching a Stage III option in nineteenth century British history and completing his book on British phrenologists of the nineteenth century.

Dr Hugh M. Laracy has been promoted to Senior Lecturer. Dr Michael Bassett was elected Labour MP for Waitemata in the last General Election. He is still giving some seminars in the department.

Dr M. R. Stenson is on refresher leave until the end of the first term, working mostly in Malaya. Associate-Professor L. J. Holt is in England on a Nuffield Fellowship and Mrs Judith Binney is spending her leave in Britain and Mexico. Professor M. P. K. Sorrenson will take up the Smuts visiting fellowship at Cambridge during a short leave commencing in August.

Professor Sorrenson and Professor O'Connor attended the 1972 ANZAAS conference in Sydney, and Professor O'Connor gave a paper there. He later delivered the second Massey Memorial lecture at Massey University. Professor Holt gave a paper at the Conference of the Australia and New Zealand Association of American Studies in Adelaide in August.

Late in 1972 an Auckland History Teachers Association was set up. Professor P. N. Tarling was elected chairman and Miss J. M. Williams secretary. Associate-Professor R. C. J. Stone is organizing the proposed conference on nineteenth century British history to be held 9 and 10 July 1973 at Old Government House, Auckland.

Professor John La Nauze visited the department in 1972. Visitors this year will include Dr R. T. Shannon, Reader, School of European Studies, University of East Anglia, and Mr A. D. Knox, a Canadian who is completing a doctorate under Professor G. Elton at the University of Cambridge.

UNIVERSITY OF WAIKATO

The staff in History was brought up to full strength at the beginning of 1972 by the arrival of Mr D. G. S. Simes of Magdalen College, Oxford, formerly of Canterbury University, to take up his appointment as Lecturer. During the year two members of the staff went on refresher leave: Dr J. O. Miller was on short leave from June 1972 to February 1973 in New Zealand, engaged in background work, research, and writing for his forthcoming economic, social and political history of New Zealand; Miss M. E. Avery went on leave to the United Kingdom in August to carry on research in the field of eighteenth-century British political history.

NEWS 101

MASSEY UNIVERSITY

Dr D. A. West has been appointed Senior Lecturer. Mr K. R. Howe is post-doctoral Fellow. Mr L. H. Barber has been appointed to a temporary lectureship.

VICTORIA UNIVERSITY OF WELLINGTON

Mr J. O. C. Phillips and Miss Phillida E. Bunkie have been appointed to Lectureships. Dr T. H. Beaglehole and Dr A. M. Khan are on leave in Britain and Bangladesh.

UNIVERSITY OF CANTERBURY

The Department very much regrets the untimely death of Mr J. J. Saunders on 25 November 1972.

Mrs M. A. H. Peters is on study leave in London. Mr W. J. Gardner is spending his study leave in Canberra, Melbourne and Adelaide.

Professor A. A. Conway is on study leave in Cambridge and has been appointed a Visiting Scholar at Corpus Christi College for Hilary term 1973. Later in the year he will be moving to the United States.

Mr P. R. May has been promoted from Senior Lecturer to Reader. Mr G. W. Rice, a Canterbury graduate, has been appointed Lecturer.

In August 1972, Professor Conway, Mr Wearing and Dr Countryman attended the Conference of the Australia and New Zealand Association of American Studies in Adelaide.

UNIVERSITY OF OTAGO

Mrs Marjorie Maslen is on leave in Britain. Mr H. Morton is also on leave and will do research in Britain and the United States. Dr Hew McLeod spent the long vacation doing research in India.

Dr Erik Olssen has been promoted from Lecturer to Senior Lecturer. Dr Ralph Hayburn has been promoted to Lecturer. Dr John Pinnington has resigned from the Department after six years' service.

Dr Michael Cullen was awarded the Jeremiah Dalziel Prize for the best thesis on British History presented at the University of Edinburgh in 1971.

Dr G. A. Wood has taken up residence as the William Evans Research Fellow for 1973.